top of page
Buscar
  • Foto del escritorAmaia

Empire state of mind



It's 7:06 at Gatwick Airport in London, and my dark circles weigh heavy beneath my eyes. After a record-breaking 5 hours and 45 minutes on the JFK-Gatwick flight, it's 2 in the morning for me. Yet, the dark circles are offset by the excitement I feel for the trip to the Cotswolds during the Christmas holidays. Landing in the UK has added to my joy: a Wetherspoon at the airport exit, a WHSmith with an array of Meal Deal options, the British accent...


People ask me why I find this country fascinating, referring to their unpleasant encounters with Brits of a sour disposition. I know what they mean: as soon as I sat down in the café, I tried to plug my laptop charger into the power under a gentleman's feet. I said "sorry" three times. Not a single response, verbal or non-verbal. However, my time living with two Brits prepared me for these moments. I got to know their initially reserved nature but found them friendly once a relationship is established. And the way they infuse humor into everything, with tints of sarcasm, and often self-deprecating. I appreciate their humor and am ready to immerse myself in their character over the next few days.


But we've come to talk about another story. Between work and coffee sessions to finish my thesis, I sometimes force myself to look up to see the magnitude of the skyscrapers and remind myself that I live in New York. The dream of many, yet I'm still uncertain if it's mine. After 9 months in the city, I'm slowly making peace with the metropolis that, in my first months here, seemed to only spit out negative experiences. The positives started trickling in recently, and I began to grasp its vibrant energy, the dynamism and madness of its people, and the importance of living within the delusion. New York has an aura of authenticity compared to other US cities. I've never seen such a mix of ethnicities, languages (more than 800 are spoken), and religions concentrated in one place, not even in my beloved London. With over 8 million inhabitants, they say New Yorkers are tolerant, very honest (perhaps too much), pragmatic (a trait acquired after living in the city), and driven by ambition and determination. I understand this last point perfectly because it's the epicenter of opportunities and a temporary home for millions of career-driven individuals. Hence one of the many meanings of the nickname 'The Big Apple' for NY which was used among African American jazz musicians to refer to the city as the place where one could get 'the best apple,' or better job opportunities.



The key is to have the capacity to step out of it before its energy hypnotizes you. Will I be able? I still think I pretty sure will.

52 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas Recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page